Establishment of 5 Zonal Councils of India.

To promote interstate co-operations, Parliament of India established Zonal councils. Under the States Reorganization Act, 1956─ each Zonal Council is combined from a group of Indian States. Zonal Councils are known as statutory/ deliberative/ advisory bodies, hence, they are not constitutional bodies. Therefore, Union Territories of Andaman and Nicobar Islands & Lakshadweep are not member of any Zonal Council.

Brief History: India’s Zonal Councils.

Zonal Councils were created with the motif of development in the form of co-ordination and co-operative culture between the members of Zone (i.e. States and Union Territories of respective Zone). As a mediator, Zonal Councils provides meeting platform to Centers and respective States/ Union Territories. These Councils play a major role of problem solvers while hyphening the balance socio economic development of respective zones.

Zonal Councils Map of India by eagerous
Zonal Councils Map of India by eagerous

Organizational structure of Zonal Councils:

The Union Home Minister is honored as Chairman of all the Zonal Councils. Under annual rotation policy, Chief Ministers of members state take a hold as Vice-Chairman. Chief Ministers (Except Vice-Chairman) and 2 other ministers (who are nominated by respective Governors) and 2 members from Union Territories are introduced as the member of Zonal Council.

Chief Secretaries, from the members (i.e. States/ Union Territories) of Zonal Council are appointed as a Standing Committee Respective Zonal Councils. Standing Committees of Zonal Councils meet time-to-time and try to settle most of the issues at their level, they also deal with further issues & agenda to resolve the issues or to take necessary steps for further meetings of the Zonal Councils.

Senior Officers of NITI AYOG with other Central Ministries may also associated with these meetings. One person is nominated by NITI Ayog (formerly Planning Commission) for each of the Zonal Councils, Chief Secretaries and another officer/Development Commissioner nominated by each of the States included in the Zone.

The objectives of Zonal Councils:

• Bringing out national integration.
• Arresting the growth of acute State consciousness, regionalism, linguism and particularistic tendencies.
• Enabling the Center and the States to co-operate and exchange ideas and experiences.
• Establishing a climate of co-operation amongst the States for successful and speedy execution of development projects.

Members of Zonal Councils: States and Union Territories
ECouncilStatesUnion Territory
NNorthern ZoneHaryanaNational Capital Territory of Delhi
NNorthern ZoneHimachal PradeshChandigarh
NNorthern ZonePunjabJammu & Kashmir
NNorthern ZoneRajasthanLadakh
CCentral ZoneChhattisgarh
CCentral ZoneUttarakhand
CCentral ZoneUttar Pradesh
CCentral ZoneMadhya Pradesh
EEastern ZoneBihar
EEastern ZoneJharkhand
EEastern ZoneOrissa
EEastern ZoneWest Bengal
WWestern ZoneGoaDaman and Diu & Dadra and Nagar Haveli
WWestern ZoneGujarat
WWestern ZoneMaharashtra
SSouthern ZoneAndhra PradeshPuducherry
SSouthern ZoneKarnataka
SSouthern ZoneKerala
SSouthern ZoneTamil Nadu
SSouthern ZoneTelangana
NENorth-Estern StatesArunachal Pradesh
NENorth-Estern StatesAssam
NENorth-Estern StatesManipur
NENorth-Estern StatesMizoram
NENorth-Estern StatesMeghalaya
NENorth-Estern StatesSikkim
NENorth-Estern StatesTripura
NENorth-Estern StatesNagaland
  • No comments yet.
  • chat
    Add a comment

    This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalized recommendations. By closing this info-box and continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy.