All 23 Governors of Andhra State / Andhra Pradesh

After establishment as a separate state, Andhra Pradesh has been served by 23 Governers. C. M. Trivedi was the first Governor of Initially formed 'Andhra State' on October 1, 1953 and he also possessed the office on its reintroduction as 'Andhra Pradesh. Smt. Sharada Mukerjee was named as first woman Governor of Andhra Pradesh. As a Governor, the longest term of 3496 days (almost 9.5 years) at Andhra Pradesh is occupied by Ekkadu Srinivasan Lakshmi Narasimhan. He witnessed the bifurcation of Andhra Pradesh into 'Telangana' & newly formed 'Andhra Pradesh'. Therefore, he served both States from June 2, 2014 to July 23, 2019.


List of Governors who served Andhra Pradesh, India.

In the below-given table, you’ll find complete list of Governors who served the State of Andhra Pradesh inclusive of their joining date, last date along with total days as Governor.

EGovernorDays in OfficeOffice JoinedOffice Left
1Biswa Bhusan HarichandanNAWednesday, July 24, 2019Incumbent
2Ekkadu Srinivasan Lakshmi Narasimhan3,496Sunday, December 27, 2009Tuesday, July 23, 2019
3Narayan Dutt Tiwari859Wednesday, August 22, 2007Sunday, December 27, 2009
4Rameshwar Thakur571Sunday, January 29, 2006Wednesday, August 22, 2007
5Sushil Kumar Shinde452Thursday, November 04, 2004Sunday, January 29, 2006
6Surjeet Singh Barnala672Friday, January 03, 2003Thursday, November 04, 2004
7Chakravarthi Rangarajan1,867Monday, November 24, 1997Friday, January 03, 2003
8Gopala Ramanujam95Friday, August 22, 1997Monday, November 24, 1997
9Krishan Kant2,754Wednesday, February 07, 1990Friday, August 22, 1997
10Smt. Kumudben Manishankar Joshi1,535Tuesday, November 26, 1985Wednesday, February 07, 1990
11Dr. Shankar Dayal Sharma455Wednesday, August 29, 1984Tuesday, November 26, 1985
12Ram Lal Thakur381Monday, August 15, 1983Wednesday, August 29, 1984
13Kochakkan Chacko Abraham1,827Tuesday, August 15, 1978Monday, August 15, 1983
14Smt. Sharada Mukerjee468Thursday, May 05, 1977Tuesday, August 15, 1978
15Justice Bipinchandra Jivanlal Divan78Thursday, February 17, 1977Thursday, May 05, 1977
16Ramchandra Dhondiba Bhandare247Wednesday, June 16, 1976Thursday, February 17, 1977
17Mohanlal Sukhadia159Saturday, January 10, 1976Wednesday, June 16, 1976
18Justice S. Obul Reddi351Saturday, January 25, 1975Saturday, January 10, 1976
19Khandubai Kasanji Desai2,481Thursday, April 11, 1968Saturday, January 25, 1975
20Pattom Thanu Pillai1,439Monday, May 04, 1964Thursday, April 11, 1968
21General Satyawant Mallanna Shrinagesh605Saturday, September 08, 1962Monday, May 04, 1964
22Bhim Sen Sachar1,865Thursday, August 01, 1957Saturday, September 08, 1962
23Chandulal Madhavlal Trivedi1,401Thursday, October 01, 1953Thursday, August 01, 1957

E for Eagerous

  • No comments yet.
  • chat
    Add a comment

    This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalized recommendations. By closing this info-box and continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy.